top of page

National Carnival

The RSL Lawn Bowls Association National Carnival is the principle interstate event that is normally held annually. 

Each participating state Association hosts the carnival on a rotating basis. Carnivals can be played in the host State's capital city or in regional centres at the discretion of the host State.

The Competitons

Each Carnival comprises two separate competitions that are played consecutively - the Jack Hamilton VC trophy and Dr Sydney Krantz Memorial Trophy - followed by the RSL Bowls Association National Fours Championship.

The Hamilton and Krantz events are played as a round robin with winners decided on an aggregate points basis.

Jack Hamiltion VC Trophy

The main matches are those played for the Jack Hamilton VC trophy. This event is the genesis of the National Carnival, first played in 1961 between Victoria and New South Wales. Miranda RSL Bowls Club donated a trophy in honour of John Patrick Hamilton VC for which sides have battled ever since.

This is a side competition comprising 5 teams of 4 players with aggregate scores deciding each match winner.


Dr Sydney Krantz Memorial Trophy

This trophy was donated for competition between Executive Fours to add incentive for these games. It is played for in conjunction with the Jack Hamilton V.C. Trophy.

The trophy was donated by Mr. Gordon Bennett, a former POW, a member of West Croydon & Kilkenny RSL and a strong supporter of the RSL Bowls Association of South Australia.


National Executive Committee Meeting

The National Carnival is also the venue for the National Executive Meeting where decisions concerning the ongoing running of the Association, its carnivals and venues are made.

This meeting is held in the afternoon following the award ceremony at the conclusion of the round robin series.

Sir Arthur Lee RSL National Fours Championship

Following a rest day, the RSL National Fours Championship gets under way. 

This event involves state based teams of four, playing 5 sectional matches in a round robin format. This is followed by knockout rounds, if needed, to determine finalists. 

Quarter finals are normally played on the afternoon following sectional play unless knockout matches are needed to decide the finalists.

Semi Finals and the Grand Final are normally played on the day following Quarter Final play, this being the last day of the National Carnival.

bottom of page